Selected all your options? Now click here >>
24th Jun 2017 - Congratulations to our BTCC driver Aiden Moffat on a job well done this season! We do not take any holding deposits to order your new vehicle! Some of our HOT deals do not make our website and if you cannot find what your looking for please call us for a quote!
Quick contact

Quick contact

Contact us Quote Newsletter subscribe
Quick contact
Green vehiclesElectric vehiclesCars in stockNewsletter subscribeRequest a quoteRequest a call backLatest News and Blog
Power search
    Bad credit

BTCC Experience pays off at Knockhill

The entire BTCC community, including all 31 drivers, paid their respects to inaugural champion Jack Sears, who passed away last week, with a minutes silence prior to Sunday's action.

Jason Plato and Matt Neal showed their younger rivals the way with a Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship win apiece at Knockhill, before Mat Jackson scored his fourth victory of the season in the final race.

Pole-sitter Plato celebrated his 500th BTCC race in style by taking a commanding lights-to-flag success in the opener, becoming the 11th different winner in this incredible season so far. The Silverline Subaru BMR Racing driver built a strong gap over the first half of the race, before Team IHG Rewards Club’s Jack Goff began reeling him in. Plato’s advantage was then completely eradicated by a safety car period, but he managed the remaining racing laps with consummate ease to claim a staggering 95th career victory. Goff and Colin Turkington completed the podium positions.

Triple champion Neal then clinched a Knockhill classic as the Halfords Yuasa Racing driver stormed through from eighth on the grid to win race two at the Fife track. Neal gradually made his way up the order while Subaru battled BMW for supremacy at the head of the pack. Long-time leader Plato began to struggle late on as he backed up the chasing pack behind him. Tordoff and Turkington traded second position on several occasions, but neither could make a move by the defending Plato.

Jackson produced his own memorable defensive drive in the final encounter, as the Motorbase Performance driver fended off a gaggle of cars to claim his fourth win of the season. The leaders were covered by just 1.2 seconds as the chequered flag fell, with Jackson celebrating the win ahead of Tordoff and Plato.

Rounds 22, 23 and 24 of the 2016 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship now rolls on to Rockingham on 27/28 August.

Race 1
1 Jason PLATO (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing 25:30.213
2 Jack GOFF (GBR) Team IHG Rewards Club +0.503s
3 Colin TURKINGTON (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +1.003s
13. Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing

Race 2
1 Matt NEAL (GBR) Halfords Yuasa Racing 25:42.020 (79.86 mph)
2 Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +1.249s
3 Jason PLATO (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +2.340s
10. Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing

Race 3
1 Mat JACKSON (GBR) Motorbase Performance 25:19.259 (81.05 mph)
2 Sam TORDOFF (GBR) Team JCT600 Racing with GardX +0.236s
3 Jason PLATO (GBR) Silverline Subaru BMR Racing +0.804s
8. Aiden MOFFAT (GBR) Laser Tools Racing

Share this article Email this pagePost this page to facebookTweet this pageGoogle+ this pagePost this page to LinkedinPin page

Posted on 30th August 2016 at 6:09 PM

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Close this message.